The second season of FLASHPOINT, a team-owned Counter-Strike: Global Offensive league has been announced to begin on Friday, November 9 and run until December 6. The competition will feature 12 CS:GO teams vying for the largest slice of US $1 million in prize pool, with $500,000 in winner’s share.

Return of seven of the league’s eight founding teams

FLASHPOINT prides itself for being an organization-owned CS:GO league, headed by Immortals Gaming Club, Cloud9, c0ntact Gaming, Dignitas, Team Envy, Gen.G Esports, MAD Lions, MiBR and FunPlus Phoenix. The founding members are all guaranteed a spot at the competition, while the remaining spots get filled by teams who make it through the qualifiers, which take place in weeks preceding the tournament.

Vivid Picks Card

Want to play the odds?

Sign Up and Deposit Up to $100

Your Deposit Will be Fully Matched

New Users Only

Unlike how it was in the inaugural season, FLASHPOINT 2 will feature only seven out of the league’s eight founding members, with FunPlus Phoenix deciding to skip the competition and instead focus on rebuilding their roster for the 2021 season. Due to FunPlus Phoenix’s withdrawal from the competition, FLASHPOINT 2 will feature seven partnered teams who will be joined by three invitees and two sides coming out of the qualifiers.

As revealed by the organizers, FLASHPOINT 2 will be played entirely online in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, with the on-air talent from London led by Duncan “⁠Thorin⁠” Shields and Christopher “⁠MonteCristo⁠” Mykles.

“We’re dramatically improving the levels of both the competition and broadcast production for Flashpoint 2″, said MonteCristo⁠.

“We’re eager to give our fans a raw and unfiltered CS:GO tournament series while still taking necessary precautions to keep players safe.”

FLASHPOINT to feature both NA and EU teams

As stated by FLASHPOINT organizers B Site, the tournament will allow teams from both EU and NA region but will be limited to teams who are able to quarantine in Europe. This means FLASHPOINT is set to become the first CS:GO tournament since Intel Extreme Masters XIV – Katowice 2020 to host teams from two or more regions.

The decision comes shortly after many North American CS:GO teams expressed their desire to finish out the 2020 season in the Old Continent, which would both allow the squads to play against stronger opponents and offer the CS:GO fans a chance to see teams from different regions collide on the battlefield.

As of Wednesday, October 7, Gen.G Esports remain the only North American roster who are confirmed to attend FLASHPOINT 2, meanwhile, c0ntact and Team Envy remain the only two teams who announced their full starting roster. Even though the full lineups are far from confirmed, almost all FLASHPOINT founding members will play with different rosters compared to season one.

The reigning champions MAD Lions have parted ways with Lucas “Bubzkji” Anderson who left for Astralis in July and are currently still on the lookout for the fifth player that would round up their roster. Cloud9, are currently in the middle of a complete roster rebuild, while MiBR’s roster remains a huge enigma as they look to fill in the gaps left behind by the departure of Epitácio “TACO” de Melo, Fernando “fer” Alvarenga and Gabriel “FalleN” Toledo who all stepped down from the active lineup on Sunday, September 13.

FLASHPOINT 2 qualifying process and format

The FLASHPOINT 2 will feature two separate open qualifiers, which will take place on Thursday and Friday. The qualifiers will accept all teams who meet the minimum criteria listed on

The top four teams from each open bracket will advance into the closed qualifiers, which will run from October 12-14, where they will join eight invited sides. The closed qualifiers will feature 16 teams who will duke it out in a best-of-three (Bo3) double-elimination bracket for one of the two tickets leading to the main event.

The FLASHPOINT 2 main event will begin with a GSL-style seeding show on Thursday, November 8, which will place teams in one of four groups. The tournament will follow the footsteps of the inaugural season and use a unique two-phase format in which teams will fight through a double-elimination GSL format for qualification points.

The top eight teams will the most points will then advance into the playoffs where a double-elimination format will be in place. All games will be played as Bo3, including the grand finals, scheduled for Saturday, December 6.


Join our Discord to leave a question or comment regarding this article. We have sports fans talking betting all day — every day! JOIN THE DISCORD NOW AND QUALIFY FOR PRIZES & BETTING SWAG!