The Diana Stakes takes place at Saratoga Race Course this weekend and is a qualifier for the Breeder’s Cup races in November. The post time is 5:55 p.m. ET and will be televised on NBC.

Here is a rundown of the horses entered by post positions.

Sistercharlie is part of the Chad Brown group of horses and was very good in her races in France The horse could break for the finish late. Odds are 7-2 to win.

Proctor’s Edge enters with 5-2 odds to win and was sired by Ghostzapper. She was a winner in Lake Placid and Lake George races and finish in second in a grade 1 race.

New Money Honey is another Chad Brown horse that comes in as the 2016 Breeder’s Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf winner. She is in with 8-1 odds to win.

War Canoe will be entered in her second stakes race after raking in money in nine straight claiming races which included two wins. A longshot at 20-1 odds will need to attempt to stay with the pack.

Ultra Brat enters with 12/1 odds and was sired by Uncle Mo. She won Marshua River Grade 3 stakes in her first start but hasn’t shown much to be considered in this one.

Entered at Chad Brown’s top horse in this event is A Raving Beauty. She was a winner in the Grade 1 Just a Game and will be ridden by Irad Ortiz Jr. at 3-2 odds to win.

Hawksmoor has 15-1 odds to win and has some experience winning in 2017 in Grade 1 races. However, 2018 hasn’t been as kind as she is still looking for her first win of the year.

Our picks:

Winner= A Raving Beauty  (3/2)

2nd Place = Proctor’s Ledge  (5/2)

3rd place = New Money Honey  (8/1)

A Bit of History:

The first Diana Stakes race took place in 1939 at Saratoga Race Course in Sarasota, Springs, New York. It is 9 furlongs and runs on a turf surface along with being a left-handed track.  It is only for Fillies and Mares that are 3-years-old and up. The total purse given is $500,000.

It was named after the mythological goddess Diana. The first winner in 1939 was War Regalia and last year two winners (2016, 2017) were Dacita and Lady Eli. Both are trained by Chad Brown and were ridden by Irad Ortiz, Jr.

Diana Stakes Records:

Speed: (at current 1 1⁄8 miles on grass)
1:45.22 – Hard Not To Like (2015)

2 – Miss Grillo (1946, 1947); Searching (1956, 1958); Tempted (1959, 1960); Shuvee (1970, 1971); Hush Dear (1982, 1983); Glowing Honor (1988, 1989); Forever Together (2008, 2009)
Most wins by an owner:

6 – Rokeby Stable (1967, 1968, 1976, 1984, 1988, 1989)

Most wins by a jockey:
4 – Conn McCreary (1946, 1947, 1954, 1956)
4 – Eddie Belmonte (1969, 1972, 1973, 1974)
4 – Jerry Bailey (1989, 1998, 2000, 2002)
4 – John Velazquez (1995, 2001, 2005, 2015

Most wins by a trainer:
5 – J. Elliott Burch (1967, 1968, 1976, 1982, 1983

For more about our horse racing picks, visit KnupSports!

Sports 2.0 Discord Community