Preakness Preview of Pimlico Race Course History

Pimlico Race Course  is located in Baltimore, Maryland and first opened its doors on October 25, 1870, making it the second oldest racetrack in the nation behind Saratoga. It got its name because the Olde Ben Pimlico’s Tavern in London was recognized by the early settlers from the 1660’s. Later, the nickname for the track became “Old Hilltop” because there is a small infield rise that many used as a gathering spot.

There will be six main races and eleven in all on this day with the Preakness Stakes being the finale. Let’s look at each one:

Preakness Preview of Gallorette

The is the first main race of the day and is a Grade 3 race for fillies and mares that are 3 years of age and older. The race is run on turf for 11/16 mile and features a $150,000 payout.

The entries include:

Julie Foxtrot (who is the heavy favorite to win), 

Not In Jeopardy


No Mo Lady

Wicked Awesome

Storm The Hill



Preakness Preview for Miss Preakness Race

The second race is for 6 furlongs on dirt and is a $50,000 Grade 3 for 3-yer-old fillies.

The co-favorites for this race are Ain’t No Elmers, Mundaye Call and Wicked Whisper.

The entire field is:

Ain’t No Elmers

Wicked Whisper

Fly On Ange

Sound Machine

Mundaye Call

Ankle Monitor

Princess Cadey

Preakness Preview for Dinner Party Stakes

Grade 2 race is scheduled for the third of the day that allots $250,000 in prize money and is for 3-year-olds to run for 11/16 mile on turf.


G2, $250,000, 3-year-olds and up, 1 1/16 mile on turf

Entires include:

True Valour



O Dionysus

Irish Strait

Doctor Mounty

Factor This

Preakness Preview for Frank J. De Francis Memorial Dash

Another Grade 3 race is on the docket which is for three year olds to race 6 furlongs on the dirt for a $200,000 payout.

This is one of the best betting cards of the day which includes Admiral Lynch and Stan the Man.

Admiral Lynch

Krsto Skye

Eastern Bay




Stan the Man


Preakness Preview for Black Eyed Susan Race

the fifth race is for 1 1/8 miles on dirt and is a Grade 2 affair for 3-year-old fillies with a $250,000 pot.

Entries include:

Project Whiskey

Truth Hurts

So Darn Hot

Dream Marie

Bonny South

Sharp Starr

Mizzen Beau

Hopeful Growth

Miss Marissa

Landing Zone

Preakness Stakes

The entire day is set up for this leg of the Triple Crown. The Preakness is a Grade 1 race with $1,000,000 on the line for 3-year-old horses to run 1 3/16 mile on dirt.

(post time of 5:36 ET.)

Delivered here by post position:

1. Excession, 30-1

2. Mr. Big News, 12-1

3. Art Collector, 5-2

4. Swiss Skydiver, 6-1

5. Thousand Words, 6-1

6. Jesus’ Team, 30-1

7. Ny Traffic, 15-1

8. Max Player, 15-1

9. Authentic, 9-5

10. Pneumatic, 20-1

11. Liveyourbeastlife, 30-1


Preakness Prediction

There is likely none that are expected to be Authentic. I always like a good longshot and that leads me to Pneumatic. As long as his price remains double digits, this is one value option to consider on top. Art Collector

Win: 9  Box 9-10-3


Preakness winners

Here is a list of the winning horses and jockeys of the Preakness Stakes.

2019 War of Will, Tyler Gaffalione

2018 Justify, Mike Smith
2017 Cloud Computing, J. Castellano
2016 Exaggerator, Kent Desormeaux
2015 American Pharoah, V. Espinoza
2014 California Chrome, V. Espinoza
2013 Oxbox, G. Stevens
2012 I’ll Have Another, M. Guiterrez
2011 Shackleford, J. Castanon
2010 Lookin At Lucky, M. Garcia
2009 Rachel Alexandra, C. Borel
2008 Big Brown, K. Desormeaux
2007 Curlin, R. Albarado
2006 Bernardini, J. Castellano
2005 Afleet Alex, J. Rose
2004 Smarty Jones, S. Elliott
2003 Funny Cide, J. Santos
2002 War Emblem, V. Espinoza
2001 Point Given, G. Stevens
2000 Red Bullet, J. Bailey
1999 Charismatic, C. Antley
1998 Real Quiet, K. Desormeaux
1997 Silver Charm, G. Stevens
1996 Louis Quatorze, P. Day
1995 Timber Country, P. Day
1994 Tabasco Cat, P. Day
1993 Prairie Bayou, M.E. Smith
1992 Pine Bluff, C.J. McCarron
1991 Hansel, J.D. Bailey
1990 Summer Squall, P. Day
1989 Sunday Silence, P.A. Valenzuela
1988 Risen Star, E. Delahoussaye
1987 Alysheba, C.J. McCarron
1986 Snow Chief, A. Solis
1985 Tank’s Prospect, P. Day
1984 Gate Dancer, A. Cordero Jr.
1983 Deputed Testamony, D.A. Miller Jr.
1982 Aloma’s Ruler, J.L. Kaenel
1981 Pleasant Colony, J. Velasquez
1980 Codex, A. Cordero
1979 Spectacular Bid,
1978 Affirmed, S. Cauthen
1977 Seattle Slew, J. Cruguet
1976 Elocutionist, J. Lively
1975 Master Derby, D.G. McHargue
1974 Little Current, M.A. Rivera
1973 Secretariat, R. Turcotte
1972 Bee Bee Bee, E. Nelson
1971 Canonero II, A. Avila
1970 Personality, E. Belmonte
1969 Majestic Prince, W. Hartack
1968 Forward Pass, I. Valenzuela
1967 Damascus, W. Shoemaker
1966 Kauai King, D. Brumfield
1965 Tom Rolfe, R. Turcotte
1964 Northern Dancer, W. Hartack
1963 Candy Spots, W. Shoemaker
1962 Greek Money, J.L. Rotz
1961 Carry Back, J. Sellers
1960 Bally Ache, R. Ussery
1959 Royal Orbit, W. Harmatz
1958 Tim Tam, I. Valenzuela
1957 Bold Ruler, E. Arcaro
1956 Fabius, W. Hartack
1955 Nashua, E. Arcaro
1954 Hasty Road, J. Adams
1953 Native Dancer, E. Guerin
1952 Blue Man, C. McCreary
1951 Bold, E. Arcaro
1950 Hill Prince, E. Arcaro
1949 Capot, T. Atkinson
1948 Citation, E. Arcaro
1947 Faultless, D. Dodson
1946 Assault, W. Mehrtens
1945 Polynesian, W.D. Wright
1944 Pensive, C. McCreary
1943 Count Fleet, J.Longden
1942 Alsab, B. James
1941 Whirlaway, E. Arcaro
1940 Bimelech, F.A. Smith
1939 Challedon, G. Seabo
1938 Dauber, M.Peters
1937 War Admiral, C.Kurtsinger
1936 Bold Venture, G.Woolf
1935 Omaha, W. Saunders
1934 High Quest, R. Jones
1933 Head Play, C. Kurtsinger
1932 Burgoo King, E. James
1931 Mate, G. Ellis
1930 Gallant Fox, E. Sande
1929 Dr. Freeland, L. Schaefer
1928 Victorian, S. Workman
1927 Bostonian, W. Abel
1926 Display, J. Maiben
1925 Coventry, C. Kummer
1924 Nellie Morse, J. Merimee
1923 Vigil, B. Marinelli
1922 Pillory, L. Morris
1921 Broomspun, F. Coltiletti
1920 Man o’ War, C. Kummer
1919 Sir Barton, J. Loftus
1918 War Cloud, J. Loftus
1918 Jack Hare Jr, C.Peak
1917 Kalitan, E. Haynes
1916 Damrosch, L. McAtee
1915 Rhine Maiden, D. Hoffman
1914 Holiday, A. Schuttinger
1913 Buskin, J. Butwell
1912 Colonel Holloway,C. Turner
1911 Watervale, E. Dugan
1910 Layminster, R. Estep
1909 Effendi, W. Doyle
1908 Royal Tourist, E. Dugan
1907 Don Enrique, G. Mountain
1906 Whimsical, W. Miller
1905 Cairngorm, W. Davis
1904 Bryn Mawr, E. Hildebrand
1903 Flocarline, W. Gannon
1902 Old England, L. Jackson
1901 The Parader, F. Landry
1900 Hindus, H. Spencer
1899 Half Time, R. Clawson
1898 Sly Fox, W. Simms
1897 Paul Kauvar, T. Thorpe
1896 Margrave, H. Griffin
1895 Belmar, F. Taral
1894 Assignee, F. Taral
1893 NO RACE
1892 NO RACE
1891 NO RACE
1890 Montague, W. Martin
1889 Buddhist, W. Anderson
1888 Refund, F. Littlefield
1887 Dunboyne, W. Donohue
1886 The Bard, S. Fisher
1885 Tecumseh, J. McLaughlin
1884 Knight of Ellerslie, S. Fisher
1883 Jacobus, G. Barbee
1882 Vanguard, T. Costello
1881 Saunterer, T. Costello
1880 Grenada, L. Hughes
1879 Harold, L. Hughes
1878 Duke of Magenta, C. Holloway
1877 Cloverbrook, C. Holloway
1876 Shirley, G. Barbee
1875 Tom Ochiltree, L. Hughes
1874 Culpepper, W. Donohue
1873 Survivor, G. Barbee


Looking for more horse racing articles? Check out our selection.