The NHL has announced their inductees for the next Hall of Fame ceremony. Here are the selections for 2018:

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils

This was the one player everyone knew was going to get selected in his first year of eligibility. He was the 20th overall draft selection in the 1990 Draft and made it to the NHL the following season. He notched 691 wins and 125 shutouts in his career which are the most in the history of the league. He has won the Vezina Trophy four times and a Hart Trophy nominee on three occasions.

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

He was undrafted and couldn’t keep a job with the Calgary Flames but was selected by the Tampa Bay Lightning and led their team with 588 assists, 953 points, 64 game-winning goals, and 68 postseason points. He was a key ingredient to help the Lightning win the Stanley Cup in 2004.

Alexander Yakushev

He led his team in Russia during their Canadian confrontation in the 1972 Summit Series. He has coached the Spartak Moscow of the Kontinental Hockey League and the Soviet national team. He has worked as a referee and worked the Canada Cup Series in 1991.

Willie O’Ree, Boston Bruins

He was a right winger for the Boston Bruins from 1957-1979. He wasn’t known as a scorer but overcame one-eye blindness to play a long career in the NHL. He broke the color barrier for becoming the first black player to play in the NHL. Today he is 82 years old.

Gary Bettman, NHL Commissioner

He has been the head man in the NHL since 1993. At times, he was a controversial leader while looking on during the 2004-2005 NHL lockout and two additional work stoppages. He has added seven teams to the NHL during his tenure and has seen league increases in revenue. He is 66 years old and a native of New York.


Jayna Hefford, Brampton Thunder

She is the lone female on this list. She retired from the National Women’s Hockey League and was the all-time leading goal scorer with 252 goals. She was a member of the Canadian Olympic team five times and has been part of four gold medals and one silver medal.