The start of the controversial 2022 World Cup in Qatar is just over one year away. Qualification to reach the major tournament is reaching a pivotal stage, as CAF and European qualifying at the playoff stage begins in 2022.

However, 13 of the 32 teams that will make up the 32-team group stages have been decided. But, which teams will we definitely be watching in Qatar, and who still has work to do.

Qualified Teams For 2022 World Cup

Want to play the odds?

Sign Up and Deposit Up to $100

Your Deposit Will be Fully Matched

New Users Only

Some of the biggest national sides from around the world have secured their place in the world’s biggest sporting competition. Qatar (as hosts), Germany, and Demark had already assured their spot before the November international break, but the remaining group winners in Europe have now been decided.

Reigning world champions France, and top-ranked Belgium were the first to book their spots, as they were crowned winners of Group D and Group E respectively. Croatia and Spain both faced a nervy end to their respective groups, but both ended up getting the wins that they needed to progress.

Serbia and Switzerland were the two big shocks in the final round of games, as they topped groups that also included Portugal and Italy. England secured their place at the World Cup on Monday night with a comprehensive 10-0 win over minnows San Marino.

The Netherlands were the final European side to secure their spot, as the Dutch faced a tense three-way battle on the final night of games. Also on Tuesday night, Argentina became the second South American side to qualify for the World Cup, as the two-time champions held Brazil to a 0-0 draw.

Tense Playoffs Get Underway In Europe, Africa Next Year

For some nations, their job is far from done, as they will continue their goal of reaching the World Cup finals in the playoffs. Teams that finished second in the European qualifying group all drop into this round, with the best-placed runners-up getting home ties.

The seeded nations in European playoffs include 2016 European champions Portugal, reigning European champions, Italy and Sweden. The seeded teams are rounded off by Scotland, Russia, and Wales.

They will come up against one of the unseeded nations in a one-tie shootout. The unseeded nations are Turkey, Poland, North Macedonia, Austria, Ukraine, and the Czech Republic.

African qualification is one of the hardest to come out of, as the second round consists of the group stage, with only group winners progressing. Ten teams will then battle it out for the five African spots on Qatar.

Nations that will be doing battle in early 2022 are Algeria, Cameroon, DR Congo, Egypt, and Ghana. Other teams in the hunt are Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, and Tunisia.

The CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and AFC qualifiers still have some way to go, as both have just come past their half way stage. At present, Iran, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, and Japan will get the automatic spots in the AFC region. Meanwhile, Australia and the UAE will clash in a fourth round playoff.

The United States are involved in the CONCACAF qualifying, but slipped to second in the standings after a 1-1 draw with Jamaica. Canada currently leads the way with six games remaining, with Mexico in the final qualification spot. Panama are currently in fourth, which would mean a final chance in the inter-confederation play-offs against nations from the AFC, CONMEBOL, and OFC region.

Current 2022 World Cup Outright Betting

  • France- +600
  •  Brazil- +600
  •  England- +700
  •  Spain- +800
  •  Italy- +1000
  •  Argentina- +1000
  •  Germany- +1000
  •  Belgium- +1200
  •  Netherlands- +1200


Join our Discord to leave a question or comment regarding this article. We have sports fans talking betting all day — every day! JOIN THE DISCORD NOW AND QUALIFY FOR PRIZES & BETTING SWAG!