Iditarod 2022 will get underway on Saturday,March 5, 2022 with a start in Anchorage and finish in Nome. The current record is 8 days, 3 hours and 40 minutes for the 1000 mile trek.

Iditarod Mushers

2 Sean Williams M     Chugiak AK    USA Rookie
3 Jeff King M     Denali Park AK       USA Veteran
4 Michelle Phillips F     Tagish YT     CANADA Veteran
5 Paige Drobny F      Cantwell AK     USA Veteran
6 Martin Massicotte M    St-Tite Quebec    CANADA Rookie
7 Jessie Holmes M     Brushkana AK     USA Veteran
8 Ramey Smyth M     Willow AK       USA Veteran
9 Anna Berington F       Knik AK       USA Veteran
10 Matthew Failor M Willow AK USA Veteran
11 Mats Pettersson M Kiruna SWEDEN Veteran
12 Joar Leifseth Ulsom M Mo i Rana NORWAY Veteran
13 Hanna Lyrek F Alta NORWAY Rookie
14 Eric Kelly M Knik AK USA Rookie
15 Riley Dyche M Fairbanks AK USA Veteran
16 Lev Shvarts M Willow AK USA Veteran
17 Ryan Redington M Knik AK USA Veteran
18 Richie Diehl M Aniak AK USA Veteran
19 KattiJo Deeter F Fairbanks AK USA Rookie
20 Dallas Seavey M Talkeetna AK USA Veteran
21 Aaron Peck M Grande Prairie AB CANADA Veteran
22 Joe Taylor M Fairbanks AK USA Rookie
23 Aaron Burmeister M Nome/Nenana AK USA Veteran
24 Kristy Berington F Knik AK USA Veteran
25 Deke Naaktgeboren M Fairbanks AK USA Veteran
26 Anja Radano F Talkeetna AK USA Veteran
27 Brent Sass M Eureka AK USA Veteran
28 Dan Kaduce M Chatanika AK USA Veteran
29 Julie Ahnen F Cantwell AK USA Rookie
30 Mitch Seavey M Seward AK USA Veteran
31 Matt Hall M Two Rivers AK USA Veteran
32 Amanda Otto F Denali AK USA Rookie
33 Mille Porsild F DENMARK Veteran
34 Jeff Deeter M Fairbanks AK USA Veteran
35 Ryne Olson F Two Rivers AK USA Veteran
36 Bridgett Watkins F Fairbanks AK USA Rookie
37 Peter Kaiser M Bethel AK USA Veteran
38 Martin Buser M Big Lake AK USA Veteran
39 Gerhardt Thiart M Cheboygan MI USA Rookie
40 Karin Hendrickson F Willow, AK USA Veteran
41 Kailyn Davis F Fairbanks Alaska USA Rookie
42 Travis Beals M Seward AK USA Veteran
43 Lisbet Norris F Fairbanks AK USA Veteran
44 Sebastien Dos Santos Borges M Chazey-Bons France Rookie
45 Joshua McNeal M Fairbanks AK USA Veteran
46 Chad Stoddard M Anchorage Alaska USA Veteran
47 Apayauq Reitan F Kaktovik AK USA Veteran
48 Matt Paveglio M Eagle River AK USA Rookie
49 Yuka Honda F Healy AK USA Veteran
50 Hugh Neff M Anchorage AK USA Veteran


For the latest up-to-date Iditarod news, click here

Iditarod Favorites

Although betting odds are not prevalent, we find that there are six former champions entered this season,Dallas Seavey of Talkeetna is looking for his sixth win and other returning champions include four-time winner Martin Buser of Big Lake, three-time winner Mitch Seavey of Seward (Dallas’ dad), 2019 champion Pete Kaiser of Bethel and 2018 champion Joar Leifseth Ulsom of Norway.

Four time winner Jeff King retired this year but is back after Nic Petit came down with positive COVID test and he talked King into returning and to take his dogs in 2022. That article is here.

Iditarod- What is It

The Iditarod is an annual sled dog race in Alaska run on what’s known as the Iditarod Trail. It is the longest annual sled dog race in the world The length of the trail is usually around 1,000 miles. The trail varies but traditionally runs between the Alaskan cities of Anchorage and Nome. Racers, known as mushers, race with a team of 14 sled dogs that pull their dogsled. The winner of the race usually finishes in eight or nine days.


About the author– Tom Knuppel has been writing about baseball and sports for a few decades. As an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan he began with the blog CardinalsGM. Tom is a member of the United Cardinals Bloggers and the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. He also maintains the History of Cardinals website. More recently he has been busy at KnupSolutions and the primary writer of many sports at KnupSports and adds content at Sports 2.0. Tom is a retired High School English and Speech teacher and has completed over one hundred sportsbook reviews. He also can be followed on Twitter at tknup.  Feel free to contact Tom at